Set some goals! Get back into the driver’s seat

I’ve been using this time over the mid semester break to catch up on course work. That’s the plan anyway. Well, as we are about half way through I’ve assessed how much course work I’ve caught up on, and let me tell you, things are not looking good!

What really got me thinking was watching a TED Talk about Procrastination posted by fellow EDC3100 student everlastingdiscovery and I’ve come to think about how procrastination can also effect our future students.

 

Background Wallpaper

Image from Public Domain by Kai Stachowiak. Background Wallpaper.

 

How do we help? We need to teach our students how to make a plan! Set some goals! When students make a plan and set their own goals, it reverts the power back to them, and allows them to drive their own learning. They gain confidence to take on challenges and it improves the effectiveness of the strategies they use to complete tasks.

Here is a great resource from the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development of the Victorian Government which outlines some ways that teachers can help students to set goals.

In the meantime, here is a list of 6 apps that might help me to set, monitor and achieve my goals. I think I need all the help I can get!

5 thoughts on “Set some goals! Get back into the driver’s seat

Leave a Reply

